Hello Goodbye Dog and Giveaway!

Hello Goodbye Dog introduces us to an affectionate, bouncy pooch named Moose who thinks saying “goodbye” to his girl Zara as she heads to school is as awful as “an itch that couldn’t be scratched.” Can Zara find a way to make Moose a welcome presence in the classroom? Yes!

Maria Gianferrari is no stranger to Bildebok readers as I’ve featured three of her picture books, Penny and Jelly: The School Show, Penny and Jelly: Slumber Under the Stars, and Officer Katz and Houndini. Since we’ve met Maria, for Hello Goodbye Dog I thought we might learn more about her own beloved canine companion, Becca!

Becca, Maria has just said “goodbye” but the door isn’t shut tight. If you follow her, where are you hoping she is headed?

To Granite Lake in NH, so I can go for a long walk and a swim.

Becca, you sniff something delicious and slip into the school cafeteria. What are three things can Maria say or do to make it easier to leave when it is time for “goodbye”?

1) Ask me if I want to go for a ride in the car—I love that!

2) Get out my leash, and take me for a walk.

3) Give me a Kong with a treat, that’s what she always does before she leaves, and I know she’ll come back.

Library reading dog enjoying “The Four Puppies” with my kiddo and her favorite librarian, Fifi Abu,, circa 2007.

Becca, Maria is helping you with homework for therapy dog school. What books do you hope she chooses to read with you?

For picture books: Gaston by Kelly DiPucchio (illustrations by Christian Robinson), Ragweed’s Farm Dog Handbook by Anne Vittur Kennedy and My Father the Dog by Elizabeth Bluemle (illustrations by Randy Cecil).

For longer books: The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate, Because of Winn Dixie by Kate DiCamillo

Thank you Becca for your woof-ully wonderfully delightful answers! Readers (sorry – USA only, as it will be shipped by the publisher) who would like to win their very own copy of Hello Goodbye Dog can comment below. One lucky winner’s name will be drawn and they will be notified in the next 10-14 days.

***

Congratulations Danielle Hanmelef – you are the lucky winner! Please forward your mailing address to me at cmealey (at) post.harvard.edu so we can send your book!

***

Please visit all the stops on the Hello Goodbye Dog Blog Tour for more fun and giveaways with Maria, talented illustrator Patrice Barton, and perhaps even some furry friends! Here are the links you want to follow:

*Monday, July 24th:                            Pragmatic Mom + THREE book giveaway!

Two for Tuesday, July 25th:            Librarian’s Quest and Reading for Research

Wednesday, July 26th:                     Homemade City

Thursday, July 27th:                           Kid Lit Frenzy

Friday, July 28th:                                Mrs. Knott’s Book Nook

Monday, July 31st:                             Picture Books Help Kids Soar

Wednesday, August 2nd:                   The Loud Library Lady

Thursday, August 3rd:                       DEBtastic Reads!

Friday, August 4th:                            Mamabelly’s Lunches with Love

Monday, August 7th:                         Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

EXTRA: August 25th:                      Kidlit411—Interview with Patrice Barton

Becca and Maria

Maria Gianferrari is a picture book reading/writing, tea-drinking, dog-loving, birdwatching author of the Penny & Jelly books, Coyote Moon, an ALA Notable Book and a Junior Library Guild Selection and Officer Katz and Houndini. Her newest picture book, Hello Goodbye Dog, is illustrated by Patrice Barton. Maria lives in northern Virginia with her scientist husband, artist daughter, and rescue mutt, Becca. She has additional titles forthcoming from Roaring Brook Press, Boyds Mills Press, GP Putnam’s Sons and Little Bee. To learn more about Maria, visit her website: mariagianferrari.com,  Facebook or Instagram.

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Hello Goodbye Dog and Giveaway!

  1. What a clever way to do this interview, Cathy and Maria (and Becca)! What a cutie Becca is; I’m surprised Maria doesn’t take her everywhere so she’d never have to say good-bye! 😉

  2. Fun interview. The book looks really sweet. I will pass on the drawing. I am just buried in books right now. Thanks or the post.

  3. Iza Trapani says:

    The cover is very endearing, and the story sounds wonderful. I look forward to reading it! Woof, woof.😊

  4. Linda E.H. says:

    Becca is adorable. Does Becca stand for B.E.C.C.A. (Best Ever Cute & Cuddly Animal?) 🙂

  5. mariagianferrari says:

    Thanks so much for helping with the blog tour, Cathy!! ❤ ❤ ❤ Woof from Becca 😉

  6. Great interview! I love all of Maria’s books! I am sharing this! 🙂

  7. rnewman504 says:

    Love the interview! My dogs can barely contain their excitement when they’re waiting for their boy to get out from school. I’m sure they would love to be at school with him all day, especially at lunch. I’m looking to reading Becca’s book. Congrats, Maria!

  8. What a fab interview with Becca…my big pooches like to rumble in the snow, but I’m guessing you don’t get much accumulation in VA! Your book just arrived and it’s as terrific as all the buzz. Bosco and Rosy give it 4 paws up and woofed out that Moose and Zara should land on the bestseller list! Plus it’s a creative way to teach kids opposites.

    • Four paws up – woo hoo! That’s another ringing endorsement for Moose and Zara. Thanks for visiting Nancy!

    • mariagianferrari says:

      Awww (or should I say Pawww….) Thank you so much, Nancy!! That is so sweet of you to say!! Becca loves snow too! We hardly got any this year, just one storm. But last year we had a nice blizzard with almost 3′ of snow! Becca loved it (so did I!)

  9. What a fun interview! One of my favorite picture books is Ragweed’s Farmdog Handbook. I think the author and illustrator captured a dog’s personality perfectly. I think my dog Berry and Becca had lots in common. Thanks for the post today and I can’t wait to read this book.

  10. teri57 says:

    What a lively interview, Becca, Cathy and Maria! 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading Hello Goodbye Dog–with my cuddly dog.

  11. This is a fun interview. I want to get my hands on a copy of this book. I’ve read mostly MG novels about rescue dogs and fewer PBs. So this one sounds delightful for young children.

  12. mariagianferrari says:

    And thank you again so much, Cathy!! ❤ ❤

  13. Great interview Cathy – I will surely share with my friend Alicia’s two little girls.
    Thanks! Chris

  14. Pingback: To All The Dogs I’ve Loved Before… Maria Gianferrari’s Inspirations for “Hello Goodbye Dog” (plus a giveaway!) | Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

  15. Great post, Becca! 😉 Hugs from me and Captain!

Leave a Reply

