So You Think You Can Write a Children’s Book…

Thank you Cheerios, because it was your “Spoonful of Stories” contest that first piqued my interest in writing for children. I clipped this tiny column from a parenting magazine and stuck it in my desk drawer almost seven years ago.

Then I began to write, to read, to revise, to conference, critique, and connect. This work is indeed a marathon, not a sprint. Clipping the Cheerios column was the first step for me, but the entire race requires miles of training (read 1,000+ books), conditioning (revise, revise, revise), and dedication (keep putting one word after the other -persist!).

I owe huge thanks to my editor, Meredith Mundy at Sterling Children’s Books, and my agent, Liza Fleissig of Liza Royce Agency, as well as to the kidlit bloggers, authors, editors, librarians, artists and fellow writers that I’ve been lucky to know along the way. Each of you have inspired me to keep plugging along with my stories. Lest this post in dry, inventoried nature, risk being played off the stage Academy Award style, let me say how delighted I am to share the news of my debut picture book, When a Tree Grows, sprouting onto shelves in Fall 2018;

 

 

 

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to So You Think You Can Write a Children’s Book…

  1. Congratulations! It’s nice to hear some really great news from you today! Will look forward to reading and reviewing “When a Tree Grows.” You have a great agent, too!

  2. Thank goodness for your story (and Cheerios lol). This story sounds wonderful and I can’t wait to read it! Congratulations.

  3. Rebecca says:

    Congratulations! Looking forward to reading your book!

  4. Sue Wang says:

    CONGRATULATIONS, Cathy!! So excited for you and look forward seeing your book!! Yes yes yes!

  5. I can’t think of it happening to a more deserving writer. Period.

    I can’t wait to see the finished product. Have you taken a gander at the illustrator roughs, yet?

  6. mariagianferrari says:

    Huzzah-huzzah & congratulations again, Cathy!!! Can’t wait to celebrate its book birthday!!

    ~Maria xo

  7. tinamcho says:

    Congratulations, again! How neat it all started with a Cheerios ad!

  8. And “The Big G Stands for Goodness” – that’s you. Cannot think of anyone more deserving of this debut! BTW, the hardest part of the marathon for me – butt in chair.

  9. loridegman says:

    Congratulations, Cathy!! I owe my start to Cheerios too – and I also have book coming out next year with Meredith! We’re Sterling sisters now!

  10. cmagerl says:

    Congratulations Cathy. I’m certain your book will be amazing!

  11. Dana Carey says:

    Congratulations, Cathy! Can’t wait to read your book.

    • Thank you Dana – the work you have contributed to SubItClub with Heather and Amy has certainly been a major factor in helping me learn about publishing ins and outs. I am very appreciative!

  12. Congratulations Cathy! This is GREAT news – and so well-deserved. Your writing is always so crisp, smart, and funny. I can’t wait to read your book so save a seat for me at your book signing! Chris

  13. That’s awesome! Congratulations! 🙂

  14. Great news, Cathy! Congratulations! Who knew that Cheerios would be the start of something big?!

  15. Lauri Meyers says:

    HUGE congratulations on your deal announcement! I’m so excited, I might just go bury some nuts myself in your honor:)

Leave a Reply

