Title Trends: SHOUTING

Friction. Tension. Our adult world is rife with stress and conflict lately, and I’ve noticed it has somehow trickled into new picture book releases as well. I’m neither praising nor condemning the trend, just commenting.

I live in a neighborhood filled with kids.  In fact, there’s a daycare center right next door. While that provides marvelous fodder for picture book inspiration, it’s also a window into the reality that little ones do shout, yell, argue and get passionately LOUD on a regular basis.

Here are some of the recent titles that have caught my eye:

Leave Me Alone! as reviewed by Julie Rowan Zoch
shout-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let Me Finish! as reviewed by Danielle Davis
let-me-finish

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Horrible Bear! as reviewed by Dylan Teut

horrible-bear-by-ame-dyckman-300x300

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Have any other picture book titles caught your attention that could be included in this category? Other interesting title trends that you’ve noticed?

Happy Friday, happy reading.

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Title Trends: SHOUTING

  1. Interesting post. I’ve always been drawn to more “quiet” books myself…hmmm.

  2. Thank you for being so loud! Hahahaha!

  3. I LOVE THIS POST!! Great idea to shout the word out.

  4. I never remember books I’ve read off the top of my head, I’m sure I’ve read a grumpy book recently…or maybe I wrote one in my mind. 😀

  5. GREAT OBSERVATION! 🙂 (And thanks for the *shout* out to my post.)

  6. Yes great observation. It is true kids do tend to yell a lot. Or just simply scream for no reason. Maybe they are just letting off steam. Maybe we should all follow suit and just stop what ever we are doing and just SCREAM! We may feel really good afterwards. *huh… ummm* 😉

    • My college actually designated one specific albeit unofficial night and time during exam week when students could gather in the quad and scream to release stress. Not my thing but people did participate! Thanks Diane!

  7. tinamcho says:

    Interesting observation of LOUD/Screaming picture books! You should group these into a jpg and put it on Pinterest. I have a board for grouped pbs 🙂

  8. You are right, they do communicate a certain mood. I haven’t seen any of these books you’ve highlighted. I think of “My Very Bad Day” by Julia Cook.

  9. These are children’s books? I’m thinking maybe I should be reading them myself. On another note – I like your new photo!

Leave a Reply

