For Whom the Tweet Tolls

twitter-art

Now that I have an ‘official’ teen, she possesses a cell phone and a fledgling presence on various social media platforms. For the split millisecond that she had an account on Twitter, she checked @CatBallouMealey to decide whether my profile was worth a click to follow.

“Wow, Mom – you have over 1,000 Twitter followers?” she asked incredulously. “Who are they? And why do they follow you?”

For a moment I basked in the glow of her Twitter awe, secretly knowing that even 1,000 amazing followers is mere peanuts to most hard-core social media types.  Together, we scrolled through my feed. “Mostly book people talking about book stuff,” she concluded.

Newsflash: I did not gain a new follower.

But I’m OK with that, and here’s why.  As I scrolled down memory lane through all the tweets I had shared,”favorited” or “RT’ed” I had an epiphany.

Most of those tweets were really for me.

The cover of that book I had read and loved? I should post a Goodreads review.
That illustration I had admired? It sparked a story idea I must jot down.
The social media events I promoted (#LibraryWeek)? Gather some books to donate!

So while I might occasionally nudge bookish friends to join the Twitter bandwagon (Yes, I do mean you Jama and Maria) it is probably for my own rather selfish reasons. If you are already one of my Twitter followers, thanks for helping me share and spread the book love!

Have you ever thought about what you choose to tweet and why?

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to For Whom the Tweet Tolls

  1. Yes, Jama and Maria – TWEET! 😉 I resisted for a very long time. I think I’m intimidated by all the smart witty Tweets out there. AND by the fact that I could seriously read my Twitter feed all day long instead of write. 😉

  2. mariagianferrari says:

    Cathy–I have been contemplating twitter, since I definitely do seem to miss out on lots of good things! Right now, I’m already feeling overwhelmed. Maybe in the summer, I’ll look into it, and I’ll be sure to follow you (and Debbi 🙂 ) ❤ ❤

  3. jama says:

    Still resisting. I’m a fossil, always overwhelmed. Moving slowly behind everyone else in the fast lane. 🙂

  4. I love that you impressed your daughter. Interesting how the rites of passage have changed since we were that age.

  5. Just HAD to send you one!

  6. Not a Tweeter, for I fear it would make me barely a blogger.

  7. writersideup says:

    Cathy, though at first I was overwhelmed by Twitter, as I became acclimated, I realized how wonderful it is! It opened my world in ways I wouldn’t have known otherwise, met people I never would’ve met and get to share great stuff fast and easy 😀 😀 😀 I tweet anything worth sharing 😀

    • I agree – it is much easier to “follow” on Twitter than to “friend” on Facebook sometimes.
      I like reading Tweets from interesting people and there is always something new “trending” when I need new inspiration! I’ll make sure I am following you!

  8. Cathy – I think with this many followers you are famous! And to think I knew you when!

    CC

  9. Lauri Meyers says:

    Twitter is full of little splashes of fun as long as you don’t get taken down stream in the current!

  10. “Newsflash: I did not gain a new follower.” LOL. I tried tweeting, but didn’t like any of the followers I attracted! I appeal more to the blogosphere, where whole paragraphs yet live.

Leave a Reply

