Champagne, grapes and pigs

2015 December B 012The New Year is coming! The New Year is coming! Will you hop, skip, stroll or stumble toward the finish line for 2015? Whether you are hopeful, thoughtful, gleeful or glass half-full, perhaps you’ve pondered how to prepare for 2016. Chill champagne? Eat grapes? Swap pigs? Walk your suitcase in a circle? OK – those last three suggestions can be found here on the Scholastic Parent & Child website.

Many of us may write resolutions, although I tend to write very few worth sharing. But in the spirit of full disclosure and unvarnished authenticity, here are some of the resolutions that I am making for 2016:

  • On February 17, 2016 at 4:52 PM I will eat a piece of cheese.
  • On June 22, 2016 I will wear a blue shirt.
  • On September 9, 2016 I will jump on the trampoline at 5:38 PM.
Photo credit G. Mealey

Photo credit G. Mealey

Now you may not be overly impressed, but those resolutions are SMART (specific, measurable, achievable, realistic, and time-bound) and I know that I have a high probability of success. Sure, I could become lactose-intolerant, making February’s goal more challenging. Or if the trampoline blows away in a microburst, I’ll have to visit SkyZone come September. But no matter what happens, those resolutions will keep me honest about making plans and promises.

That honesty comes into play with my long list of writing goals for 2016 ranging from the very broad to minutely specific. I plan to tackle those with the same determination and positivity. If your resolutions also include goals around writing and/or publishing books, don’t miss this terrific post from Miranda Paul at the Children’s Book Academy. Miranda created a checklist of 100 ideas to help you along your writing journey. I’ll bet you get a feeling of accomplishment by crossing off things you have already done!

However you choose to observe, embrace or celebrate the coming year, I wish you all the best. Thank you for reading along!

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Champagne, grapes and pigs

  1. Likewise to you, Cathy! I think you’re off running toward 2016 already. 🙂 My 2015 was pretty awful writing-wise so I hope there’s nowhere to go but up for me. Hugs!

    • You are so talented in so many diverse, creative pursuits T, that it is just a matter of time until you ace all your writing goals as well! Sketcher, soaper, and super-sister, as well as a baker, canner and candlestick maker! Well, guessing on the candles anyway. Hugs!

  2. Yes, great post from Miranda, and I wish I could jump on the trampoline with you, but I will join you on June 22nd (pls send a reminder!). The cheese – well, I eat cheese most every day, so… (ever tried Flagsheep? http://cheesechickproductions.com/american-cheese-society-best-of-show-2012-beechers-flagsheep/

  3. I think your resolutions sound perfect. Happy New Year to you.

  4. Catherine Johnson says:

    So funny! I’ll do the trampoline one with you . Congrats on a great year. Wishing you a great 2016 too.

  5. Great post. But I tend to agree with your thoughts. I hope you and your family have a wonderful Happy 2016!

  6. mariagianferrari says:

    They are SMART and funny, just like you, Cathy! Thanks for sharing & Happy New Year!!

  7. Your resolutions made me snort. If my arteries allowed it, I would make a resolution to eat cheese every day.

    Here’s hoping your new year is super happy! (I suspect Sterling will help in that regard!)

  8. Sue Wang says:

    Thank you for this. I like the openness to fun and whimsy. I’ll eat a piece of cheese on V Day and I am lactose intolerant. (Though hard cheese works!). Happy new year and much love to you and the adorable family!

Leave a Reply

