No Brew For You! Halloweensie Contest

witch

Free clip art image courtesy of Graphics Factory

It’s time for tricks, treats and tiny tales called Halloweensies! This happy holiday hoo-haa is brought to you by the lovely and talented Susanna Leonard Hill, and you are invited to join the fun! All you have to do is follow these simple rules from Susanna’s website:

Write a 100 word Halloween story appropriate for children (title not included in the 100 words), using the words pumpkin, broomstick, and creak.   Your story can be poetry or prose, scary, funny or anything in between, but it will only count for the contest if it includes those 3 words and is 100 words (you can go under, but not over!)  Get it?  Halloweensie – because it’s not very long and it’s for little people 🙂  (And yes, I know 100 words is short but that’s part of the fun and the challenge!  We got nearly 80 fantastic entries last year so I know you can do it!)  Also, you may use the words in any form – e.g. creak, creaky, creaks, creaking, creaked.  No illustration notes please!

All the details are HERE on Susanna’s website where you will also find links to all the fabulous Halloweensie stories.

My entry comes in at 100 words, exactamundo.

No Brew For You

Pumpkin soup!
Sweet and hot!
Come and get it from my pot!

 Witchy hag,
Bent and black,
Stands beside a crooked shack.

 Creeping near
Steaming brew
Fizzes, bubbles, crackles too.

Smells like dirt,
Lumpy, thick.
Stirred with creaky worn broomstick.

 “Take a sip,
Won’t you please?”
“Sorry, no. My allergies!

 I’m vegan,
Gluten, peanut-free,
As tempting as it looks to me.”

 Witchy frowned,
Grabbed a cup.
Glub! Glub! Glub! She drank it up.

 PIFF PIFF ! POOF!
There’s smoke, and then
She turns into my Mom again.

 “Wait and see,
This I bet:
I’ll trick you to eat veggies yet!”

Wishing you all a spooktacular Halloween! May your costumes be colorful and your trick-or treat bags filled with chocolate. I’m happy to take any surplus Reese’s Peanut Butter cups off your hands…

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to No Brew For You! Halloweensie Contest

  1. Hahahahaha! This is so cute and clever! I bet you’ll do well in Susanna’s contest. Good luck.

  2. izatrapani1 says:

    HAHA! Love all the sounds and surprise ending Cathy! Great job!

  3. LOVE this, Cathy! The lengths a mom will go to! Packs a punch!

  4. rnewman504 says:

    Sooo cute, Cathy! Good luck in the contest! There’s some spooky, stiff competition this year. 🎃👻

  5. Very funny, Cathy. Loved the ending!
    And you know…you should submit this to a parenting magazine. I’ll be most moms haven’t tried the witch angle yet!

  6. Catherine Johnson says:

    That is fabulous, Cathy! Great twist at the end and super catchy to read.

  7. jama says:

    *thunderous applause* Love this, and love that you chose a food theme. 🙂

  8. I’m with Penny, Cathy! This is excellent and so kid-friendly. You’ve made it look effortless. Bravo!!

  9. jdewdropsofink says:

    Fun entry. Love it.

  10. cherylsec says:

    This is adorable, Cathy! I love it. Well done! 🙂

  11. Sue Wang says:

    Great rhythm! 1. exactly 100 words. 2. Mom ->Witchy -> Mom. 3. trick kids to eat vegetables. 😀

  12. LovableLobo says:

    This is positively bewitching, Cathy! ❤ it! I can't wait to read all of the entries. I'm sure you'll do very well in the competition. ~Cathy

  13. So fun, Cathy! I laughed out loud at the “Sorry, no, my allergies” line and the ones that followed. So true, nowadays, and my kids sometimes seem to be allergic to veggies too. Frustrating!

  14. Janet Smart says:

    Very cute, Cathy!

  15. Romelle Broas says:

    Ha! That was great, Cathy! Love the fresh take on a mom getting her kid to eat. Very clever and fun! Now if you’ll excuse me, I am off to make my brew for my kids. Ack-ack-ack-ack!

  16. Stacy S. Jensen says:

    You had me at holiday hoo-haa! That tricky witch is scary! I have Reece’s peanut butter cups in my first bag of treats … So visit my house early! LOL I made tiny notebooks for the no candy or allergy kids. Fun for all!

  17. Nancy Tandon says:

    This is hilarious. Very fun, Cathy! Plays on so many universals – I love it.

  18. Joanna says:

    Cathy, cunning concoction for veggie-haters!! Clever!

  19. The lengths some moms go to to fill you full of Brussels sprouts. So glad the kid wasn’t fooled! Awful, those sprouts.

  20. Lauri Meyers says:

    My children are bad eaters. And I just ADORE it *cringing* when people helpfully say,”have you tried blending up some veggies and hiding them in sauce.” There is no tricking these babies. I totally feel for your witch! Great story.

  21. I glubbed this up, Cathy! :0)

  22. Hahaha, Cathy! First off, I was chuckling at the “happy holiday boo-ha” – hehehe 🙂 And then I was laughing at your story 🙂 Nice try for Witchy! I’m pretty sure every mom has tried this trick in one form or another 🙂 Great language, great rhyme, fun story! Thanks so much for joining in the Halloweensie fun! 🙂

    • Thank YOU Susanna for pulling together this annual fright – I mean FUN – fest! So great to read all the different stories tied together through one theme and three simple words. You are a genius to come up with such a story celebration!

  23. Wonderful ending–and I love the gluten, peanut-free excuses!

  24. Wendy says:

    Loved mom’s trick potion! Too bad it didn’t work, you could make millions, lol. 🙂

  25. I commented earlier today and I don’t see my entry. Kids will/won’t appreciate the ending, but I think it’s very clever. Fun entry!

  26. Great modern twist! Love the ending.

  27. Love the surprise ending and all the great sounds, Cathy! BRAVA!!!!

  28. Susan Halko says:

    This is sooooo cute! Love the fun language and surprise at the end. Great story!

  29. A nice email from rupalimulge who says: Sorry to barge in like this but I hate it when I can’t find the reply option 😦 I have to get up to date on technology.
    I read your Halloweensie entry for Susanna’s blog contest. It’s awesome! ! I wish I could trick my son into eating veggies this creatively 🙂
    I don’t have a WordPress account so couldn’t reply there. I hope this is okay. Happy Halloween!!!

  30. My son needs this one. He’s allergic to veggies. 😀 Great poem, Cathy! I hope you do well in the competition!

  31. I like the idea of Momma witch trying to trick her kids into eating veggies. Good luck!

  32. HaHa..this is great! Very entertaining!

  33. Robyn Campbell says:

    Cathy, this poem is fantastic. Love it. The flow, the rhyme, the rhythm. PERFECT. And what a wonderful twisty ending. You will knock the judges’ socks off.

  34. jeanjames says:

    What a fun story!!

  35. tinamcho says:

    Love this, Cathy! What a great surprise ending! I need my kids to eat more veggies, too! Happy Halloween!

  36. Ha, this is so cool. Very clever take on getting kids to eat veges. Love it!

Leave a Reply

