The Merry, Merry Month of May

NaPiBlog2013LogoDidn’t May just begin? Things have been busy around here in a good way.  May 1st kicked off Paula Yoo’s fifth annual NaPiBoWriWeek,  a fun challenge for writers to draft up to 7 picture books in 7 days. As Paula notes on her site, “I am proud of you no matter how much or how little you write, just as long as you TRY!”

Screen-Shot-2013-05-01-at-9_38_33-AM-465x218      Next, the New England SCBWI conference in Springfield, MA featured inspirational keynote addresses from Sharon Creech and Grace Lin. It was a bustling, energetic event where I felt fortunate to learn a lot, meet friends new and old, and chat with 12 X 12 members at the end of the day.  I enjoyed the gracious company of Stephen Fraser at lunch (PB-writing Fraser fans: he finds Jesse Klausmeier and Suzy Lee’s Open This Little Book very clever).

Doodle Day May 2013
Doodle Day May 2013

As May continues, I try to post on weekdays with Alison Hertz at Doodle Day May just for fun.  I’ve been sharing mother and daughter “pass-the-paper” doodles like this fairy princess.  A great exercise for those interested in pareidolia.

A quick shout out to Nancy Viau who sought poems to pair with her fun photo challenge at WIT to round out National Poetry Month.  Nancy was kind enough to share my four line poem about feathered friends.

Nov 2012 random 013Last, a little love for my mom on Mother’s Day.  Her dynamite recipe for Whoopie Pies was recently featured in Good Housekeeping magazine.  Click on the link for her recipe. I’ve been eating these treats all my life, but somehow hers are truly extra special. Happy Mother’s Day!

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The Merry, Merry Month of May

  1. rnewman504 says:

    Sounds like you had a very full month! Happy Mother’s Day! p.s. Cathy, Are you going to the NJ SCBWI conf. in June?

  2. Tina Cho says:

    How fun to participate in all of these things! I’ve never made it to an SCBWI event. I guess that could go on my bucket list. And what a neat doodle!

  3. Lauri meyers says:

    What a fun May! Doesn’t everything taste better when mom makes it?

  4. danacarey1 says:

    You’ve been busy, Cathy. Happy Mother’s Day! And OH MY–Whoopie Pies!

  5. 😀 That’s all. 😀

  6. Catherine Johnson says:

    Awh your mum’s treats look drlucious! Happy Mother’s day and cool for getting to sit with Stephen Fraser, that’s wonderful.

  7. Yum to the Whoopie Pies. How cool that her recipe was featured in Good Housekeeping.
    I enjoyed your four-line poem…so sweet!
    Love the fairy princess doodle. And how fun to pass-the-paper with your daughter…or have you been passing with your mother??? Whoever, the two of you are really creative. The doodle is wispy and whimsical!

  8. Sue Wang says:

    Cathy, Happy Mother’s Day.Yahoo for Whoopie Pies and dynamic mom (so are you). Doing a lot, I see -good for the soul. I esp like the May Doodle Day. I wonder what I’d produce with a 15 yr son? Thank you for the upbeat tone and energy in your posts!

  9. Happy Mother’s Day! Lucky you — I’m reading one of Sharon Creech’s new books now. I love her. I’m back from vacation.

  10. izatrapani1 says:

    You have been busy! I love the doodle and will have to make your Mom’s whoopie pies sometime. Happy Mother’s Day, Cathy!

  11. Carrie F says:

    Whoopie pies, YUM! I once put them in a poem and no one in my crit group knew what they were. This wonderful treat needs to be shared across the US! It was so nice to meet you in person at NESCBWI, Cathy. Also, I keep meaning to tell you that the day after your post about the pareidolia, my daughter started shouting for me to come in to the kitchen because “there’s a butterfly in the sink” — she had been playing in soapy water and when she drained the sink, it left a pattern of bubbles that looked just like a butterfly.

    • I can’t believe I’ve never written an ode to whoopie pies, Carrie. I must start one immediately and dedicate it to my mom.
      I’m so excited that your daughter saw a butterfly in the soap suds – that’s marvelous!
      Loved meeting you at NE SCBWI too. Great event!

  12. Wow! You’ve been busy! I really like that doodle. That’s really fun and clever! Those whoopie pies look pretty good. I like cow pies, myself. Thanks for sharing all the goodness!

  13. Oh, Springfield sounds fun! Maybe next year for me… 🙂 LOVE your mother-daughter doodle – if we did that at our house nothing recognizable would result! 🙂 And boy, those whoopie pies do look good!

Leave a Reply

