Book Lovers with Patience and Fortitude

800px-New_York_Public_Library_Lion-27527In celebration of Women’s History Month, I have enjoyed reading some wonderful posts about exciting new picture book biographies featuring incredible pioneers like Clara Lemlich, Elizabeth Blackwell, and Molly Williams.

Jeanne Harvey Walker’s marvelous blog True Tales and a Cherry on Top featured a peek into Miss Moore Thought Otherwise, the story of Anne Carroll Moore, an advocate for children’s rooms in libraries, special book collections, story time, and book borrowing privileges for children in 36 branches of the New York Public Library.  In the comments, Laura Purdie Salas mentioned her visit to the hallowed halls of the NYPL, and her photo-op with the steadfast guardians of the steps, Patience and Fortitude.  I smiled, remembering that I had also posed with Patience, back in 2009.  Suddenly, I had a spark of inspiration!

Although I am a relative newbie to the Pinterest phenomenon, I’ve created a Pinterest board dedicated to snapshots from writers, illustrators, poets, and book lovers who have made a pilgrimage to NYPL and posed “between the lions” so to speak.

So here’s my open invitation to you!  Send me your photo, share with your friends, and let’s see if we can create a fun collection of pins.  Laura graciously stepped right up to the plate and snagged the inaugural pin.  I’d love to add yours to the collection!

http://pinterest.com/catballoumealey/writers-with-patience-and-fortitude/

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Book Lovers with Patience and Fortitude

  1. izatrapani1 says:

    Thanks Cathy, for this wonderful idea and for introducing me to Anne Carroll Moore (I shamefully disclose.) I can’t imagine a library without a children’s room- and thanks to Ms. Moore- I don’t have to! I don’t do Pinterest, Cathy, but I love your idea! Good luck with it!

    • Ah, but you are a facile Twitter tweeter! I am still learning all these tools myself.
      Do you have a NYPL photo? I’ll pin it to the page for you if you email one to me.
      Thanks for re-posting on FB, and HURRAH for Anne Carroll Moore!

  2. Joanna says:

    I’m in, I’m in, with Marcie, too, I hope! What a swell idea!

  3. Love your idea, but I’ve never been to the NYPL. Thoroughly enjoyed your post and reading the three-featured non-fiction books. Outstanding women accomplishing great things. My grandmother was a dressmaker, so I was inspired by Clara the Shirtwaste Maker. I also loved that Molly was a firefighter and the research that went into how they fought fires hundreds of years ago.

  4. Sue Wang says:

    The Lioness Patience. I really love that idea -be courageous, patient reader…at the PL’s. Your post got me back to Pinterest. Great idea about writer’s postings. Look forward to more. I have 3 boards on Pin, and now I gotta figure out how to use it again. It’s fun stuff.

    Maybe next time there will be pix of the BPL?

    • I’ll have to ‘Pin’ follow you Sue!

      Hmm…BPL’s facade is rather austere. But I have pinned Nancy Schön’s marvelous “Make Way for Ducklings” sculpture from the Boston Public Gardens on a separate Pin page. Quack!

  5. Ooh! Next time I’m in Midtown you’re gettin’ a picture!

  6. Great idea – already following!

  7. Tina Cho says:

    These are great posts, Cathy! Thanks for sharing and reminding us of Women’s History Month! I wish I could stumble upon some unknown remarkable woman to write about.

  8. laurimeyers says:

    Women are awesome, aren’t they? Fun idea! I must add a pilgrimage to my summer plans.

  9. Hannah Holt says:

    Yes, thanks for sharing about Women’s History Month, and the Pinterest link up, too. Your boards look like fun following. 🙂

  10. rnewman504 says:

    Next time I am at the NYPL, I’ll take a picture. What a great idea!

  11. Your pinterest board is excellent! What a great idea!

Leave a Reply

