Happy Groundhog Day Phyllis!

Let’s see what our good friend Phyllis from Susanna Hill’s charming book Punxsutawney Phyllis is up to for Groundhog Day 2013!

Phyllis was a tad grouchy when emerging from her den, lured by Pig Newtons and cream-phylled cookies. When we informed her that tomorrow was SuperBowl Sunday, she got all excited to cheer for her favorite team, the New England Patriots!

Feb 2013 008brady(I think Phyllis has a little crush on QB Tom Brady)

                                 She seized the TV remote and refused to come outside to check on  the status of her shadow.

Feb 2013 009

                                                                                                                                                              Even her friend red squirrel couldn’t persuade her to come out and play!

Feb 2013 015

                                                                                    We were worried how Phyllis would take it when we told her the Pats were not in the big game this year.  She promptly buried her head in the peanut bowl, refusing to listen.

Feb 2013 004

Feb 2013 014After nibbling a few nuts, Phyllis regained her composure and headed out to check the all important winter forecast conditions.

North of Boston:  Sunny and 26 degrees with a gentle west-northwest breeze!  Optimal shadow conditions.

In short, six more weeks of winter, folks.

Have a lovely, extended nap Phyllis. We will see you soon! Check on groundhog conditions throughout the northern hemisphere at Susanna’s blog.

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Happy Groundhog Day Phyllis!

  1. Hahaha! Phyllis has good taste! In nuts and quarterbacks 🙂 I think my favorite picture is her upside down in the nut bowl 🙂 Thanks so much for joining in Phyllis’s Day of Fun, Cathy! And excellent weather forecasting! I like that you did not feel compelled to go with popular opinion 🙂

  2. Haha! I feel like sticking my head in a bowl of nuts quite often, so I feel your pain, Phyllis! 🙂

  3. Sue Wang says:

    Thanks for this on Groundhog’s Day. Glad that spring will arrive earlier this year. I’m sad that the Pats aren’t in the SuperBowl. I’d have my head in a bowl of nuts for that reason.

  4. Busy day for Phyllis! So much fun!

  5. Love Phyllis in the peanut bowl!

  6. HAHAHAHAHAHA *THUD* heeheeheeheeheeheehee! WONDERFUL! I LOVE it! 😀

  7. Cathy…this was exceptionally entertaining…thanks for going to so much work to write this post…I thoroughly enjoyed it.:)

  8. “Houston, we have a problem!” I think Phyllis is trying to make everyone happy this SuperBowl weekend. Looks like she’s playing favorites to both teams. She payed a visit to my hometown of San Francisco. I thought she liked the 49ers until I came to you. Hmmm…..She is the ambassador of goodwill, for sure. Cathy, love Phyllis in the peanut bowl! But I really think she was hiding her head in shame because she really doesn’t know who she will be rooting for tomorrow LOL!

  9. laurimeyers says:

    Phyllis, I think Tom may be bad news. What about the nice Manning boy? He looks very charming.
    Oh, well. As the saying goes, “you can take the nuts out of Phyllis, but you can’t take Phyllis out of the nuts.”

  10. tinamcho says:

    Very cute, Cathy! Enjoyed seeing Phyllis. Love the head in the peanut bowl!

  11. jama says:

    It was so good of Phyllis to venture out to check weather conditions despite her Patriots disappointment. If she lived here she would be equally upset by the Redskins. At least she has a lot of peanuts to carry her through the rest of winter.

  12. Catherine Johnson says:

    What a fun post! I really like the peanut bowl one.

  13. Hahahaha! I think my brother feels the same way about the Patriots this year, but I haven’t yet found him with his head in the nut bowl. Fantastic post, Cathy!

  14. Couldn’t care less about football (much to the chagrin of my extended family), but I do very much admire your stuffed squirrel.

  15. Hannah Holt says:

    “I think Phyllis has a little crush on QB Tom Brady…” LOL! You are so funny!

  16. Oh what fun you had with this! And thank you for delivering a fun read for us. I can’t believe Red Squirrel couldn’t get Phyllis out first thing. He seems a persuasive fellow. Glad she got out and got to feel the northwest breeze. It was 51 degrees her in Atlanta. Gorgeous. Back to you, great post, Cathy!

  17. Too funny, Cathy. You are obviously a picture book writer. Very creative. Thanks for sharing your imagination.

  18. Phyllis head-first in a bowl of peanuts totally cracked me up!

  19. Loved your post! I’m thinking about getting an extra big bowl of peanuts so that I can bury my head…That’s truly going nuts!
    Leave it to you and your exceptional sense of humor to have such a fun post!

    • Technically, I guess Phyllis was going “legume-y” but since we write for kids, let’s just say nuts!

      Phyllis recommends unsalted peanuts as those won’t sting your eyes as much ;-D Thanks for stopping by Penny!

  20. Hahahaha. Thanks for giving me a laugh. But I’m a Dolphin lover, so yeah. I think you know where I’m going with this. *wink* Great job, Cathy! (Loved your joke. Am telling the family tonight.) *waving*

  21. I love this! So cute and hilarious. My kids would love it if I was this creative. 🙂

  22. Reblogged this on bildebok from Cathy Ballou Mealey and commented:

    Sharing a favorite from the archives today!

  23. LOL!! That was quite the adventure, Phyllis! And you have a very cute squirrel friend. 😉

  24. Loved Phyllis! She brightened my day! Perhaps Phyllis will get over her recent disappointment by turning her attention to the Celtics. They’re on a hot streak and she’s already wearing their team colors!

Leave a Reply

