Halloween Queen: 2012 Halloweensie Challenge

And now for a completely self-indulgent post…

Halloween Queen
Halloween Queen

HALLOWEEN QUEEN

The Halloween Queen wears a special crown
As she traipses gaily through the town.

Bats swoop down to take a peek
At her chapeau, so sweet and chic.

Its candles glow with sparkly fire
As pumpkins seethe with lit desire.

Through envious eyes, the witches stare.
Their pointy hats cannot compare.

The Queen is out for trick or treat
And something else that’s just as neat.

She sports the crown one day per year
Gathering wishes and good cheer.

Ghosts beware.  Ghouls make way.
Today’s the Halloween Queen’s birthday!

Yes, it really is my birthday. At age 6 my costume was a Halloween Birthday Girl. My cake-hat candles were not actually lit, although that would have been even more fun!

Susanna Leonard Hill’s Halloweensie Contest:  Write a 100 word Halloween story appropriate for children, using the words witch, bat, and “trick-or-treat.” Your story can be scary, funny or anything in between.  Susanna’s challenges always garner marvelous entries, so I encourage you to pop over and read them all!   (Halloweensie – because it’s not very long and it’s for little people.)

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Halloween Queen: 2012 Halloweensie Challenge

  1. Happy Birthday! Love the poem and I hope you are wearing the costume again today.

  2. Catherine Johnson says:

    Lovely poem, Cathy and Happy Birthday!

  3. This is adorable! Happy Birthday and Happy Halloween. And you need to get your link up over at Susanna’s blog! This is an awesome entry. You have such a talent for poetry!

  4. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, CATHY!!!!! I hope your day is wonderful! What a clever, fun, entertaining story you have thought up! Thanks so much for joining in the fun. Enjoy being Queen for a day 🙂

  5. izatrapani1 says:

    Happy Birthday, Halloween Queen! Nice poem! May your day be full of treats! xoxo

  6. Looking forward to a “Haunted Party” storytime tonight Iza. Boo!

  7. Huzzah for the Halloween Queen! What a great day for a birthday, and I love the cake hat idea. Adorable poem, Cathy – all hail!! 🙂

  8. Hope you receive royal treatment today Cathy! Happy Birthday! The poem reads aloud so well – I fell into the spell immediately!

  9. Cathy, Happy Birthday and Halloween! What fun. Love your poem — you are a natural! Your cake hat is wonderful costume idea! I was ordained 13 years ago on Oct. 31. Your birthday just reminded me.:) Enjoy your day with family!

  10. Julie says:

    Are you really Cat Ballou? That was such a wonderful movie with Jane Fonda and Lee Marvin! Happy Birthday Cathy! Loved your poem and your cake hat!

  11. Sue Wang says:

    Happy birthday, Queen Cathy. And I want to eat your cake-hat. As usually, a great poem. 🙂

  12. jama says:

    I bow to you, O Halloween Queen! Wonderful poem and drawing. Happiest BIrthday Wishes to my favorite 29-year-old. *hands over yet another chocolate cupcake*

  13. Happy birthday, Halloween Queen! That was a wonderful poem — so evocative. Your drawing is fabulous, too. I’m right there with you (almost) because my birthday is tomorrow! So Halloween always feels extra-festive to me.

  14. Laura Renauld says:

    Happy Birthday! “Write what you know.” You did it! Very clever.

  15. jannatwrites says:

    Happy birthday! I’m glad you presented us with this fun poem for your birthday 🙂 Maybe I’m just used to ‘dark’ stories, but the envious witches staring make me nervous for the queen!

  16. A real life Halloween Queen! What a great day for a birthday. “As pumpkins seethe with lit desire” -Gorgeous line. I can see the glowering, jealous pumpkins.

  17. “As pumpkins seethe with lit desire”…oh my…that is too awesome! Great poem, Cathy…so many wonderful images just begging for illustrations. 🙂
    And Happy Birthday!

  18. Katie says:

    Great poem! What fun to have a Halloween birthday.

  19. Happy (belated) birthday! I would make every Halloween costume birthday related. How fun. Fun poem as well.

  20. Carla says:

    Awesome. Happy Birthday!! I’d love to see that hat!

  21. Happy birthday! I have a great nephew who was born ON October 31. Enjoy you treats!

  22. Donna says:

    Great poem, and such a lovely chapeau! Thanks for sharing, and happy belated birthday!

  23. laurasalas says:

    Happy belated birthday! Wow, you’re like the St. Lucia of Halloween:>)

  24. laurimeyers says:

    Happy belated Halloween and Birthday! I love the pumpkins seething with desire and the envious witches. I’m imagining much excitement (or delightful halloween cackling?) when those word choices hit you!

  25. Awesome as always!

    I gotta get back into the swing of rhyming, too, for You Know What.

Leave a Reply

