Polar Bear Fleece and Millennial Musings

Guys, gal and gorilla
Photo by Grace Mealey

I’ve been sharing poems around the blogosphere lately, and thought I’d highlight two links to great blogs that were kind enough to include my work.

First up, the talented and lovely Catherine Johnson shared my silly fleece poem that was inspired by her Detroit Zoo photograph of a submerged polar bear.  Catherine has hinted at snapping great gorilla photos as well, so I’m sharing this snapshot of our family’s gorilla encounter at Boston’s Franklin Park Zoo this summer.  That’s my son peering deeply into Kimani’s eyes.  Check out Catherine’s poetry featured in a terrific new book called And the Crowd Goes Wild!

I also submitted a poem to David Harrison – yes THE award-winning, inspirational David Harrison – for inclusion in his Poetry Sunday feature.  Millennial Monday’s Child is my revision of a classic nursery rhyme.  I’m a Sunday child by birth, hoping to become a Saturday’s child as envisioned in this re-write.  What are you?

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Polar Bear Fleece and Millennial Musings

  1. Catherine Johnson says:

    I think I had some gorilla photos in my zoo post. I’ll dig some more out and do gorillas next 🙂
    Thanks for the shout out. I should have linked your poem on david’s blog on my post too *doh*

  2. I enjoyed both of your poems!!!!

  3. izatrapani1 says:

    Oh this poem brings me shear pleasure! (somebody had to say it 🙂 It’s wonderful, Cathy! And I love what you did with Millennial Monday’s Child. Can’t wait to see you on saturday (no puns- I promise!)

  4. Oh Iza! Can’t ewe promise me at least one pun? It wool be wonderful to see ewe!

  5. I have read both as I happen to hang around those blogs 🙂 and they are both excellent! I especially like the Millennial Mondays Child one 🙂 so much nicer than the original!

  6. Love both poems equally. Have a soft sport for the polar bear, but really enjoyed your rewrite of the Millennial Monday’s Child poem. I am a Thursday child.

  7. Stacy S. Jensen says:

    I enjoyed both. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Great photo! I loved the polar bear poem!

Leave a Reply

