Two Big Black Hearts – deCordova series

Two Big Black Hearts
Jim Dine, 1985
Bronze
deCordova Museum and Sculpture Park, Lincoln MA

Two hearts beat as one.
Rising in the blazing sun.

Stand right here.  That’s it.  CHEESE!
Nope – it’s blurry.  Once more, please.

Hurry, scurry, rush away.
Wait.  Look closer.  Study, stay.

Faces, hands, toys, tools.
Crusted on their surface, jewels.

* * *

Welcome to my third post inspired by artwork at the deCordova Museum and Sculpture Park in Lincoln, MA.

These ENORMOUS, 12 foot tall bronze hearts stand at the far end of a long, grassy green where they provide an ideal photo backdrop.  During our visit many couples lined up, snapped their photos, and walked away without taking a good look at the sculpture, which is deeply textured with a smorgasbord of objects.  I recall an eggbeater, hammer, wrenches, faces, even a teddy bear.

Jim Dine is renowned for his heart sculptures, as well as Pinocchio lithographs and sculptures of all sorts and sizes.  Were you worried I might not squeeze in a children’s book reference?  In a 2010 interview with poet Ilka Skobie for Artnet magazine, he admitted being both frightened and enchanted by the Disney movie as a boy.  For him, the wooden boy’s story has many more layers than the popular fairytale.

Where have you had your photo taken recently?

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Two Big Black Hearts – deCordova series

  1. Joanna says:

    Very sensorial. I love the final stanza especially!

  2. jama says:

    Love love your poem, especially the last stanza :). Those big hearts would be beautiful enough, but with all those objects, even better. Such a cool idea. Glad you noticed the teddy bear on it :)!

  3. I wish I could touch those hearts. Oh wait. I feel like I just did! Nice.

  4. Love it!

    You should consider doing an entire book about a family posing for a photograph.

  5. Very lovely poem. Large sculpture certainly make a statement and provide many different reactions.

  6. Very cool. Thanks for the photos, Cathy. I’ve seen the hearts, but I didn’t know about Dine’s Pinocchios. He is pretty scary when he’s that big!

  7. Another great poem! You got the beat, honey!

  8. How totally cool! And another amazing poem, Cathy! You are so talented!

  9. Sue Wang says:

    Love the Love x2. Thank you for continuing to lightening our day!

  10. Hannah Holt says:

    Your poem made me laugh! Well done. I rarely have my picture taken because I’m usually the one holding the camera saying, “Once more, please.”

  11. What? Four fabulous couplets all rolled into one? More please! Cathy, you’re on a roll. It’s so great to see your blog so darn active these days! I may not comment on every one, but now that I’m getting your posts, I never miss reading them. Yay!

    And I swear I’ve touched those hearts. Could they have been displayed in NYC over a decade ago?

    • Most likely you have, Renee. He’s represented by the Pace Gallery and has exhibited many versions of the hearts over the years.

      I think I have two more deCordova posts in the works, and then I’ll have to find a new source of inspiration. Glad that you have enjoyed them!

  12. Kathy Temean says:

    Cathy,

    Didn’t know your were such a poet. Very nice.

    Kathy

Leave a Reply

