A Present for a Pirate

Without further ado, here is my entry for Susanna Leonard Hill’s Birthday contest. The idea is to write a children’s story about a creative or unique birthday celebration in 300 words or less, poetry or prose. Susanna is a fun and generous blog hostess and her competitions always garner lots of delightful entries. I hope you will pop over to read them!

Lundy the hound and Captain Saltsam
Were pirates aboard the vast ship Crusty Clam.

On Saltsam’s big birthday, he had one desire:
A colorful bird for his pirate attire.

Lundy decided to cast out their net
And catch Saltsam’s present, the best ever yet.

After sailing around, Lundy pulled in the haul:
Some driftwood, a buoy, a flattened beach ball.

Snared in the net lay a sopping sea bird,
“A parrot?” asked Lundy. “Now don’t be absurd!

I’m a puffin! Release me!” the cranky bird snapped.
“I’ve no place on a ship, and I won’t be bird-napped!”

“Hush up, pesky puffin! Behave and pipe down.
You’re a pirate’s bird now. Eat crackers and frown!

Happy birthday dear Captain!” said the gift-bearing hound,
“A bird for your shoulder! Here – wear him around!”

The bird thrashed his feet and swung with his beak,
He flapped his strong wings, smacking Sam on the cheek.

He wiggled and wobbled and shrieked in alarm,
Then lifting his tail, pooped down Saltsam’s arm.

“Yuck!” yelled the captain. “Get off me! Goodbye!”
The puffin leaned over and nipped Saltsam’s eye.

Lundy was crushed, gave a low mournful howl.
“I’m sorry I gave you that terrible fowl.”

“Oh well!” said the captain. “I don’t need a bird.
I can see now quite clearly my wish was absurd.

The present I want isn’t one we can catch.
With this nifty new boo-boo, I want an eye patch!”

I have long been infatuated with this unique little dog, the Norwegian lundehund. They were originally bred to hunt and retrieve puffins, which were a vital source of meat and feathers for Norwegians living along the western fiords and islands. In the 1880’s puffins became a protected species and the lundehund breed was nearly lost.  Today, there are approximately 1,100 lundehunds living in Norway and 350 in the United States.

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to A Present for a Pirate

  1. Excellent, Cathy! Very fun! You will win the hearts of young readers the world over with any story that involves poop down the arm 🙂 Unique and creative! Thanks for joining in the fun!

  2. I tend to have a twisted sense of humor, so I too, loved the poop down the arm. Excellent job.
    I’m glad to hear you view life with the glass half full. That’s the only way to get the most out of life.

  3. Cathy…what fun! Kids will love any story that involves a pirate and poop. 🙂
    Seriously, it was really entertaining…and I enjoyed his flexibility, great attitude and willingness to see the silver lining in the cloud…now he can get an eye-patch!

  4. Laura Renauld says:

    What a bouncy, unique story! I love the typical pirate bird idea turned on its head, with hysterical consequences.

  5. A pirate tale from one of my favorite wenches (don’t tell Iza)! Delightfully creative, Wench Ballou — I fell for it poop, brine, and stinker!

  6. tinamcho says:

    Very creative, showing the reason why a pirate needs an eye patch! And I like how you used the puffin and Lundehund!

  7. A pirate tale from one of my favorite wenches (don’t tell Iza)! Delightfully creative, Wench Ballou — I fell for it poop, brine, and stinker!

  8. HA HA! I LOVE your story! 🙂 Poor Cptain Saltsam… 😉

  9. Catherine Johnson says:

    Brilliant story! Fun, rhyming, pirates, poop and interesting dog.

  10. Shiver me timbers! How can you not fall for a pirate who can ‘see’ the advantage in an eye injury! And thanks for including the info on the Lundehund. Avast, what a proud beauty!

  11. Carrie F says:

    Cathy, this is hilarious. I love it!

  12. Julie says:

    Absolutely did not see that ending coming – great job!

  13. izatrapani1 says:

    That’s a great pirate tale, me heartie!

  14. Wonderful, Cathy. So fun and well done! The poop is hilarious!

  15. What a fun, creative story!

  16. Creative and very humorous. You write verse exceptionally well. Good for uTales.

  17. Stacy S. Jensen says:

    Love this. The poop on the arm was a nice touch. Your verse always makes me smile. Interesting story about the lundehund, too.

  18. Absolutely fabulous story!!! Love it!

  19. Hannah Holt says:

    Haha! Great entry!

  20. Loved this and learning about the Norwegian Lundehund!

Leave a Reply

