February 12 X 12 Challenge Complete!

My February 12 X 12 draft is complete, with a beginning, middle and end.  While my idea seemed ‘yeasty’ at the start of the month, I kneaded the dough, let it rise, baked and then tasted it.  I think the recipe has promise but still needs tweaking before it is ready for my critique group!

It wasn’t just my draft, but February itself was a disappointment.  One thing after another simply was not going my way.  Two major car repairs, then the dishwasher door refused to shut, the washing machine’s electronic panel went haywire, the kitchen sink began to leak, a glass-shaded lamp crashed on the tile floor, a kid got sick and my spare tire went flat.  We had to laugh and shake our heads, because it seemed like new challenges were surfacing each day. 

Then something terrific happened.  The stubborn printer that had ceased working in January finally decided to submit to my patient husband’s techno-tinkering.  I planned a stay-home-and-write-in-my-pajamas day to celebrate.  This morning I printed and organized drafts needing revision, some sample query letters and my PiBoIdMo idea log.  I feel energized and prepared to tackle my March 12X12 draft head on!

February, please close the door behind you on the way out.  Thank you.

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to February 12 X 12 Challenge Complete!

  1. Good for you for accomplishing things in the midst of all else! Love your image of bread-making.

    Here’s hoping for good things for March!

  2. Iza Trapani says:

    What an awful month. Thankfully, you are ok! And good for you for remaining positive and productive in the midst of all those travails. Here’s to a great March!

    • I am grateful that nothing truly terrible happened. These were just pesky annoyances that became comical, one after another after another!

      Your ‘Grins and Giggles’ video post was a welcome opportunity to smile, Iza!

  3. Congrats on getting the draft done amid all the chaos! I hope March will be better! 🙂 I love your ending – February please close the door behind you on your way out! – as far as writing goes, I could say that for about the last 30 months! 🙂

  4. Cathy, I didn’t know whether I should laugh or cry reading your list of trials for the month. Sorry you had to go through all that in one month! Glad you got your draft done and good luck in March! And, Hooray for the printer.

    • Stacy – I think laughing is the only response that will suffice! I found your “One Letter at a Time” post to be a realigning, helpful reminder that things were only going to be slightly rocky here for a short while. Thanks for sharing it.

  5. Cathy, I’m glad you all survived February and can look forward to March. Glad you got your second draft done — loved you anology to making bread. Glad you can about it — the best medicine! Have missed you! – Pat

    • Yes Pat – I hope March will also bring the luck of the Irish for all of us 12 X 12’ers.

      Fortunately my mother-in-law’s soda bread recipe never fails, so it has to be a better month!

  6. Hi Cathy,
    Here’s another proverb, old saying, or whatever you want to call it: You are only given as much (bad stuff) as you can stand (or something like that)…good thing we all have chairs to sit on and beds on which to lie down, cause sometimes it seems like we are given quite more than is necessary. Doesn’t it sometimes seem that EVERYTHING goes wrong at the same time?

    Glad your printer is cooperating…and you were able to finish the Feb PB draft and got some other stuff organized. Are you marching into March?

    • Ah Vivian – true to yet another proverb, March is indeed coming in like a lion around here! Fortunately the snowstorm did not cancel school and I can get some writing done today.

      Here’s to a lamb-like month’s end!

  7. It’s times like that when the theme songs from “One Day at a Time” and “Laverne & Shirley” go on constant replay in my brain! Glad everything worked out. I’d say my February draft needs to go back in the oven for a good long while…sigh.

  8. Hannah says:

    I’m so sorry that you had such a hard month. I hope March is a million times better!

  9. Joanna says:

    Missed this, Cathy. I sure hope March has fewer annoyances and much creativity. 🙂

  10. Congratulations on finishing your February manuscript! Just think, by the end of the year you will have 12 stories to shop around. 🙂

Leave a Reply

