Unlikely Valentines at Susanna Leonard Hill

The Moth and The Flame

The moth nearly swooned as he flit toward the flame.
“My sweet spark! My love light! You signaled. I came!

How you dazzle and twinkle and tempt me to touch.
I’d kiss you my darling, if you’d not scorch so much!”

The flame danced and flickered. She’d wax, then she’d wane.
She glowed with a passion that drove moth insane.

But her heart was not his, for another she burned;
A jealous sky-bolter whose jolt she once spurned.

ZZZTT! Lightning flashed! Then wild thunder boomed.
Cold torrents poured forth. The lovers seemed doomed!

“Fear not!” cried our hero. He snatched up a leaf,
And sheltered the flame who stayed dry underneath.

The leaf smoked and sizzled. Eight embers popped out.
“Our children!” cheered moth. That’s what love’s all about.

Happy Valentine’s Day!  Come join the fun at Susanna Hill’s blog contest!  Write a children’s story, poetry or prose, 150 words maximum, about unlikely Valentines and post it before February 13.  Susanna’s contests always garner marvelously creative entries, so I encourage you to click over and follow the links!

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Unlikely Valentines at Susanna Leonard Hill

  1. WOW! CAthy you are unbelievable!!! This is SO good! And in 129 words. You are out of my league 🙂

  2. That was absolute delight from start to finish! SO well done, Cathy!

  3. mybabyjohn says:

    Such a cute poem….and thank you for droppiing by youngish.

  4. Wow!!! That was amazing writing. I loved it cute picture and all. where do I vote, where do I vote……lol.

  5. That is unbelievable. I absolutely loved it!!!! I couldn’t wait to see how it ended….which was clever and creative.

  6. Very clever, Cathy! Well done! I’ll have mine up on Monday, so hope you stop by. 🙂 Such a fun contest!

  7. jama says:

    *thunderous applause*

    Love it!! 🙂

  8. Thank you Jama! Someday I’ll have to write a food-related post in your honor. Your blog always leaves me craving something delicious!

  9. Hi Cathy,
    I absolutely LOVE your rhyme…the descriptive words…the story held me from beginning to end. I could visualize the entire sequence of events…one of the hallmarks of a great picture book story, I think. 🙂 And the ending…so creative…and funny. I enjoyed every moment of reading it.

  10. Oh my! this is so clever. What wit! I adore it! I’ll be reading it to my kiddos and DH tomorrow! This is such a fun read aloud! Love it!

  11. Julie says:

    I LOVE this! What great rhyme and so original.

  12. Wow! This is so clever, creative, and well-written. Love it!

  13. Catherine Johnson says:

    Beautiful and so cute!

  14. I was hooked at the title. Your poem was fantastic! Very clever and a great ending!

  15. Natalie says:

    How clever is this! You are so creative and the writing is so descriptive! Loved it! Great job, Cathy! 🙂

  16. Tracy Bermeo says:

    Cathy, great story. Definitely unlikely Valentines and I admire your ability to rhyme. I’m so sadly lacking in that area.

    • Hi Tracy – thank you for stopping by and commenting! I was lucky to get some great advice when I was first learning rhyme, and that helped me get up onto the steep learning curve. I am still working hard to master it!

  17. Rebecca Fyfe says:

    I love this! The rhyming is much better than I ever manage and I love the imagery of the moth and the flame. 🙂

  18. Hannah Holt says:

    Ooooh! The perfect unlikely lovers. Very well done.

  19. Hmm. Let me count the ways this is perfect. Word count, poetry, story — Just perfect.

  20. Joanna says:

    This is a vibrant, active, fun, unusual love story. Fab!

  21. tinamcho says:

    Very cute and creative!

  22. This one is just AWESOME! I wish I could write like that!

  23. Julie says:

    Me too! My heart is all a-flutter in light of your radiant skills!

  24. Moth and flame, why didn’t I think of that lol, that was perfect! Great job Cathy

  25. clarbojahn says:

    What a great entry! Each one I read is better than the last. Susanna is going to have a hard time picking the winner! 🙂

  26. sunriseovertheiceberg says:

    ok, THAT is awesome!!!

  27. Heather says:

    Wonderful! The ending is just perfect! Nicely done.

  28. Cathy — You are so creative! I liked everything about this story. It was so concise! Great work!

  29. Amy Dixon says:

    You rhymers just blow me away! Really beautiful job, Cathy!

  30. Hi Cathy! I don’t see anywhere on your site how to contact you. Could you send me a message through the comment form on my site when you get a chance? I’d like to chat with you about some poetry! 🙂

  31. Iza Trapani says:

    Your pom is wonderful, Cathy. Very witty word play. I love it!

Leave a Reply

