January 12 X 12 Challenge Complete!

I was sure that January would be a productive month once I signed up for the 12 x 12 in 2012 Picture Book Writing Challenge with Julie Hedlund. A friendly and powerful writing community is being developed in this group. For me, a real challenge has been to focus my precious writing hours on my own work without being whisked away down the rabbit hole through myriad Facebook links and blogposts. Nonetheless, I am proud to say that I did complete my January PB manuscript as well as some writing that I had not anticipated.

1. January 12 x 12 PB manuscript completed!

2. Submitted two PB manuscripts to Rate Your Story and got incredibly helpful feedback on both.  These were ideas generated from Tara Lazar’s PiBoIdMo challenge.

3. Submitted Rilla’s Resolution for the First Page Prompt entry on Kathy Temean’s “Writing and Illustrating” blog, and got terrific feedback from Dianne Ochiltree.

4. Submitted Dangerously Delicious, a 540 word spoof about a TSA-confiscated cupcake to the Highlights for Children 2012 Fiction Contest.

5. Submitted A Whopper of a Holiday, a 550 word fiction story about an airline employee adopting a stranded pooch to the AKC Publications 2012 Fiction Contest.

6.  Submitted a thirteen page application to Canine Companions for Independence as the first step toward adopting an assistance dog for my 10 year old son.  Of all the writing that I completed in January, this piece certainly has the most potential to open doors and lead to great things!

Onward, to February and groundhogs, valentines, presidents and other wonderful things.

Skol!

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to January 12 X 12 Challenge Complete!

  1. Boy have you been productive! What an awesome list! And I know from reading your entries in the Halloweensie and Thanksgiving contests that you can write well! Good luck with all your submissions – I’m sure you’re going to get good news from at least one 🙂

  2. Yes. No. 6 sounds life changing. Best of luck. The opportunity to use one’s writing skills to help a family member is priceless. No. 4 sounds delicious. You must let us know about this one. Enzo cried the last time at the airport, because he had to give up his small stuffed dog at screening. The officer was very kind and gave him a sticker until he was reunited with “small dog.”

  3. Julie says:

    Wow Cathy! That is quite an impressive list of accomplishments! I can’t wait to see what you’ll whip up for February!

  4. WOW Cathy — you cetainly have been productive. I’ve wondered why you haven’t been as present. You are wise. I’m trying to do it all — and realizing I can’t. I am very happy about your son. I know a woman who trains dogs and met her latest trainee last weekend. Will tell you more later. Congratulations on all that you’ve done. You’ve just given me a needed jolt.

  5. Sheri Cook says:

    CONGRATS on all you have accomplished!
    It lends a bit of courage to those of us who have yet to send out anything yet.
    Wishing you very happy results!

  6. hannahholt says:

    You certainly accomplished a ton in just the first month of the year. Congratulations on all the fabulous goals you acheived!

  7. Melissa says:

    Congrats on such a productive month 🙂 Well done

  8. jama says:

    Hooray for you! Needless to say, I’m most intrigued by that confiscated cupcake story :). Good luck with the dog adoption!

    • Jama – the good news is that the Cape Cod bakery that developed the offending ‘cupcake in a jar’ confection has experienced a tremendous business boom! I guess in this case, there is no such thing as bad press?

  9. Catherine Johnson says:

    What a productive January you’ve had. Good luck with your submissions!

  10. Saba says:

    Wow! you had a great month!!!!

  11. Cathy,
    I awarded you a Liebster Blog Award. It’s listed on my site: http://childrensbooksheal.com/2012/02/05/liebster-blog-award/.

    Pat

  12. Congratulations, Cathy, on winning the Liebster Award! And that was the reason I came to visit your blog…as Pat awarded it to me as well and I wanted to visit all the recepients. HOWEVER, now that I am here, reading this post, I want to congratulate you on your focus, determination and outright unbelievable amount of accomplishments for the month of January!!!!
    So nice to meet you, Cathy…I’ll definitely be back to hear more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

