What Happened to Rilla’s Resolution?


What happened to Rilla’s Resolution? It was critiqued by Dianne Ochiltree, author and freelance editor at www.ochiltreebooks.com.

I am always excited and inspired by this extraordinary monthly challenge on Kathy Temean’s blog, Writing and Illustrating www.kathytemean.wordpress.com.  Again, I chose to submit something in prose and geared this piece toward a slightly older reader, something that pushed me out of my usual picture book comfort zone.

I am so grateful for the opportunity to have an expert editorial eye peruse my submission and give suggestions and input. Here’s a snippet from her critique:

“Most of all, the author has established the primary need of the character’s heart, the problem for the main character to solve: becoming a part of the‘other world’. Whatever turns of the plot to come, readers know that important changes will come and want to flip the page to find out.”

She had other very nice things to say, making my heart skip a beat or two of happiness!  To read the full review, please click here:

http://kathytemean.wordpress.com/2012/01/27/free-fall-friday-dianne-ochiltree/#comments

As always, my thanks to Kathy – who pulled off this Free Fall Friday event in the midst of coordinating the registration process for the 2012 NJSCBWI conference: www.regonline.com/njscbwi2012conference.  To attend this star-spangled conference one day in the future is definitely on my bucket list!  And my deepest thanks to Ms. Ochiltree for making my day much brighter with her feedback!

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What Happened to Rilla’s Resolution?

  1. Julie says:

    I saw the review on Kathy Temean’s blog. Congrats!

  2. Congrats. It’s always fun to see the followup. I think the New Jersey conference may need to be added to my bucket list. Sounds like it’s a blast!

  3. Cathy, what a positive and meaningful critique. Diane is very thorough in her critique not skipping a beat in reviewing every aspect of your story. I lked your story and felt it was very well written, character-driven with a strong want and plot. But to have a professional give you such glowing feedback. You must be floating. What a tribute to all of your hard work. I hope you do something more with this story, as the fantasy would interest me. Good for you! – Pat
    (Posted this on Kathy Teaman’s page, when I meant to post here. Read the entire critique.)

  4. WOW! That is so exciting! What a wonderful opportunity and review! Congrats!

  5. Iza Trapani says:

    What great positive feedback on your story, Cathy! You deserve it. I also loved your Night before Christmas entry!

  6. Thank you Iza! It’s an honor to have you reading my blog. You’re an author celebrity at our house!

  7. Darshana says:

    congratulations! I loved reading your piece and the great feedback.

Leave a Reply

