PiBoIdMo Winner!

I was not alone.  There were 300+ participants in the Picture Book Idea Month challenge on Tara Lazar’s blog http://taralazar.wordpress.com/piboidmo2010/.  Those of us who successfully spawned at least one new picture book idea per day for the month of November are the winners!  We have generated 30 or more fresh ideas to explore, develop, combine, or even discard as we pursue our picture book writing journeys. The challenge was great fun, as we were spurred on by daily guest blog posts from talented authors, illustrators, agents and others in the picture book biz.  Further enriching the experience was a creative, diverse and inspiring PiBoIdMo Facebook community that weighed in on  a variety of topics from serious to silly, 24/7.

After I reached 30 sparks, I kept going.  Two of the ideas were so exciting that I had to start story outlines right away.  However a more exciting notebook that is truly *bulging* contains all of the bookmarks, hints, insights, suggestions and do’s and don’ts that will guide me as I play with my PiBoIdMo ideas.   My picture book drafts post-PiBoIdMo  will certainly feature strong voice, interesting characters, unique conflicts, and satisfactory endings.

My thanks to Tara, the guest bloggers, and all my fellow PiBoIdMoigans for making this November one of the most educational and inspirational of 2011!

Skol!

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to PiBoIdMo Winner!

  1. Woo hoo! I’m glad to be a winner too. Also, happy you were able to post the badge on here! Lots of ideas to work on. I’m still in the “organizing” process with mine.

  2. Cathy — you have a jump on some of us with some outlines. Good for you! It was a great month and fun!

  3. I love that you have a notebook with all the hints, insights, etc. you gleaned from this challenge. That’s a great idea! Good luck as you continue to shape your manuscripts 🙂

Leave a Reply

