Susanna Hill’s Thanksgiving Challenge

We should have gone to Grandma’s but the blizzard came in fast.
The snow banks drifted deeper and we knew that they would last.

We thought of Grandma’s turkey and prize winning pumpkin pie.
Could we miss her fancy feast? Oh no! We had to try!

Dad shook his head. “Our tire tread won’t get us out of here.
We need some transportation with snow blizzard traction gear.”

From the barn we pulled an old toboggan, bent and beat.
We lashed some rope onto the front and pulled it to the street.

The horse, the cow, the dog, the cat – we tied them to the sled.
Then gooped their feet with peanut butter, honey and some bread.

We hopped aboard and held on tight when Dad shouted, “Now, MUSH!”
Whoosh! We sailed across the snow and slid along the slush.

The icy snow was blinding, but we thought we headed east.
Our rag-tag team was working hard to get us to our feast.

On and on we traveled, til our teeth were blue with frost.
Finally little Suzie cried, “Oh Dad, I think we’re lost!”

Then up ahead we saw a twinkling light among the trees.
It wasn’t Grandma’s house but we must stop or else we’d freeze.

We would have gone to Grandma’s but the blizzard came in quick.
Who knew that was the year we’d have Thanksgiving with St. Nick!

It’s been a busy week, but with PiBoIdMo going on I seem to have writing ideas bubbling in my mind all day long.  I also felt I had to rise to the challenge posed by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen in her “Eddie’s Tall Tale” critique to write a fun twist ending.  So here’s my latest effort, Thanksgiving with a Twist.

Please join the fun and add your own entry at http://susannahill.blogspot.com/2011/11/oh-excitement-thanksgiving-contest.html.

Here are the rules: Post your 250 (or fewer) word kids’ Thanksgiving story, beginning with “They were supposed to go to Grandma’s for Thanksgiving, but the blizzard came in fast…” and add your link to the link list. Last day to submit is November 24th!

About Cathy Ballou Mealey

Children's book author, repped by Liza Fleissig of the Liza Royce Agency. Wife, mother, daughter, sister, alumna, autism advocate, book reviewer. Reach me via email at cmealey@post.harvard.edu or Twitter @catballoumealey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Susanna Hill’s Thanksgiving Challenge

  1. The twist ending — Fantastic! And, I love rhyme, so I laughed my way through this one.

  2. Melissa Kelley says:

    I loved this – a classic! I liked it from the beginning, but by the time you pressed the cat into physical labor, I was a goner. 🙂 Wonderful!

  3. Cathy Mealey says:

    Thanks for clicking over to read and comment! 🙂

  4. Cathy, loved your story, especially loved involving the horse, the cow, the cat, and the dog. I laughed out loud. Liked your selection of verse. Am envious of those with talent. 🙂 Pat

  5. Joanna says:

    What lovely verse and I love all the animals involved.

    So glad that your PiBoIdMo creativity is still flowing! Mine is in ups and starts, often depending on how many hours I have worked that day!!

  6. Cathy this is awesome! So creative with the animals and the twist ending. Totally fun! My assistant judge and I are going to have a hard time with this contest – so far the entries are top notch!

    • Cathy Mealey says:

      It is great fun reading all the entries for your challenge – a terrific pool. No, I do not envy you and your assistant judge one bit!

      From the comments here, I’ve learned that your readers enjoy animal elements. I was focused on my word count/twist ending – wish I had built up the sleigh team component more. Feels like a cheering section (slash) critique group all in one!
      Thanks for another fun challenge!

  7. Catherine Johnson says:

    Wonderful rhyme and rhythm and fun 🙂

  8. I love this one Cathy, I am always in awe of people who can write poetry well. Great twist at the end. Funny, I was thinking of a story to write with a similar twist in mind…lol.

  9. This is cool! I think writing in rhyme is so hard! I wish I could it better than I can! I really like the ending!!

  10. Julie says:

    I always love a surprise ending! This is a great poem and I’m glad I found you via the contest!

  11. elizabethannewrites says:

    That was such fun! Loved the twist at the end. Perfect place to spend Thanksgiving!

  12. That was darling! It would make an excellent children’s story. 🙂

  13. Cathy Mealey says:

    On this Thanksgiving eve, I am very thankful for all of the friendly comments on my post!

    Wishing you all great friends, family and feast!

  14. How cute and fun! I love everything about it! You are awesome!

  15. Jim Hill says:

    Like the others mentioned, I like the twist at the end! Good job.

  16. Cathy, your entry was so much fun to read. Loved the ending, very original.

    Also, thanks for stopping by my blog earlier!

Leave a Reply

